Mass tort leads cost between $3.52 and $347.64 per lead in the trailing 30 days, depending on the tort, and the spread in cost per signed case is wider still: $116 on one campaign, $896 on another, on the same day. Those are not estimates. They come from Mass Tort Ad Agency's live market data, which pulls nightly from every MTAA-managed Meta ad account, covering 600+ plaintiff law firms, 100+ mass torts, and $250M+ in managed spend. The table below is what firms actually paid for ad-generated mass tort leads as of September 3, 2026. No vendor quotes, no ranges pulled from a sales deck.
How we know what mass tort leads cost
MTAA runs tort campaigns on a cost-plus model: the firm pays the Meta ad spend plus a 15% management fee, and the firm can see the ad account. That structure is the reason these numbers can be published. Cost per lead is ad spend divided by leads. Cost per signed case is ad spend plus the $100 CloudIntake processing fee per retainer, divided by signed retainers. Every figure is aggregated at the tort level, updated nightly, and only reported when a campaign clears a $5,000 trailing 30-day spend floor and, for CPSC, at least three signed retainers in the window. The full methodology is public.
A lead vendor cannot publish the same table. The per-lead price a vendor quotes contains their ad spend, their intake cost, and their margin, and showing the ad spend underneath would show the margin. That is not a criticism of vendors. It is the reason the only cost data most attorneys have ever seen for mass tort leads is a quoted price, and why this page exists.
Mass tort lead costs by tort: September 2026 benchmark
Trailing 30 days, all MTAA-managed Meta campaigns clearing the spend floor. Retainer rate is derived from the published CPSC and spend.
| Tort | Scope | 30-day leads | Cost per lead | Lead-to-retainer rate | Cost per signed case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Social Media Addiction (Lanier track) | National, 7 campaigns | 7,525 | $86.58 | 22.4% | $486 |
| Social Media Addiction (Morgan & Morgan track) | National, 1 campaign | 6,083 | $54.67 | 6.9% | $896 |
| Taco Bell (multi-state settlement) | IL, IN, KS, KY, MI, OH, OK, PA, WV | 4,387 | $3.52 | 21.9% | $116 |
| Birth Injury | Illinois | 261 | $241.18 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Birth Injury | Michigan (multi-state track) | 212 | $214.14 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Storm / Hail Damage | Oklahoma and one other state, 2 campaigns | 95 | $347.64 | Pending (under 3 retainers in window) | Pending |
| Foster Care Abuse | California | 65 | $78.64 | Pending | Pending |
| Medical Malpractice | Maryland | 213 | $24.74 | Pending | Pending |
Source: MTAA Market Data, trailing 30 days ending September 3, 2026. Medical Malpractice is shown from the state breakdown; the campaign sits just above the $5,000 floor. Birth injury retainer counts are withheld at the client's request. Where CPSC reads "Pending," the campaign is live but has not accumulated three signed retainers in the current window, which is itself a data point about the tort.
Two things stand out before any analysis. First, the cheapest lead on the table and the most expensive lead on the table are separated by a factor of nearly 100. Anyone quoting a single "average" price for mass tort leads is averaging a Taco Bell claimant with a birth injury claimant. Second, the two social media addiction tracks are the same litigation, advertised the same month, on the same platform, and the cheaper lead produced the more expensive signed case. That is the whole lesson of this page, so the next section walks through it.
Why cost per lead is the wrong number
Look at the two social media addiction rows again. The Morgan & Morgan track produced leads at $54.67, about 37% cheaper than the Lanier track at $86.58. If you were buying leads on price, Morgan & Morgan looks like the better deal.
Now look at what happened after the lead came in. The Lanier track converted 22.4% of leads to signed retainers, roughly one in four and a half. The Morgan & Morgan track converted 6.9%, roughly one in fourteen. The result: a signed case cost $486 on the Lanier track and $896 on the Morgan & Morgan track. The cheaper lead produced a signed case that cost 84% more. On the trailing 7 days the gap was even wider, $451 against $1,963.
The two tracks run different qualification criteria and different intake processes. Tighter criteria on the Morgan & Morgan side mean more leads get screened out after the ad has already been paid for. That is not a mistake; it is a choice about what kind of inventory the firm wants. But it means the lead price was never the number to compare. The number that matters is cost per signed case, and the number that drives it is the retainer rate.
The retainer rate is where most of the cost of mass tort leads is actually decided. Across the torts MTAA has tracked since nightly reporting began in April 2026, it ranges from about 7% to over 20% depending on the tort:
| Tort | Cumulative leads | Cumulative signed | Lead-to-retainer rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Social Media Addiction (Lanier) | 12,856 | 2,623 | 20.4% |
| Asbestos | 5,570 | 828 | 14.9% |
| Hair Relaxer | 776 | 115 | 14.8% |
| Taco Bell | 8,261 | 977 | 11.8% |
| Medical Malpractice | 3,780 | 347 | 9.2% |
| TVM | 1,030 | 94 | 9.1% |
| Social Media Addiction (Morgan & Morgan) | 6,873 | 489 | 7.1% |
| Roblox | 593 | 41 | 6.9% |
Cumulative per-tort totals since April 2026, MTAA-managed campaigns. Source: MTAA Market Data.
What moves the retainer rate is mostly on the firm's side of the fence: how fast the claimant is contacted, how many qualifying questions the intake script asks and in what order, whether the claimant understood from the ad that they were talking to a law firm, and how the retainer is delivered. A firm that contacts leads inside five minutes and one that contacts them the next morning can be buying the identical lead at the identical price and paying very different amounts per signed case.
Bought mass tort leads vs. owned tort campaigns
Attorneys searching for mass tort leads usually mean one of two things: buying leads from a vendor at a fixed price per lead, or running their own advertising to generate them. The economics are different in kind, not just in degree.
What you pay for. With bought leads, you pay a quoted price per lead, sometimes exclusive, often shared. With an owned campaign, you pay the ad platform directly plus a management fee, and the per-lead cost is whatever the auction produces that day. The table above is what the auction produced in August 2026.
Who owns the audience. A vendor's ad account, pixel, creative learnings, and retargeting audiences belong to the vendor. When you stop buying, that asset stays with them and gets sold to the next firm. An owned campaign builds those assets inside the firm's own account. Two years of tort campaigns leaves a firm with a pixel that has seen hundreds of thousands of claimants, which is the single biggest reason CPL falls over time on the Lanier track and why a new entrant to the same tort pays more.
What happens at scale. Bought lead prices are fixed until the vendor raises them. Owned campaign costs move with the market: they fall as creative and audiences mature and rise when a settlement announcement pulls twenty new firms into the auction. Firms that want predictability prefer vendors. Firms that want a lower cost per signed case over the life of a tort prefer owned campaigns.
Bought leads are the right choice more often than an ad agency would like to admit. A firm testing a tort for the first time, with no ad account history and no intake staff trained on it, is better off buying two hundred leads and finding out whether it can sign them than spending $50,000 learning the same thing. The mistake is not buying leads. The mistake is comparing a vendor's per-lead price to an agency's per-lead cost and thinking the comparison means anything.
What drives mass tort lead cost up or down
Six things explain nearly every move in the table above.
- Claimant pool size. Taco Bell leads cost $3.52 because the eligible population is enormous and the injury is easy to self-identify. Birth injury leads cost over $200 because the pool is small, geographically constrained, and the claimant is often a parent describing a years-old event.
- Settlement and bellwether news. A bellwether verdict or a settlement announcement pulls firms into the auction within days and CPL rises with them. TortIntel tracks these events for exactly this reason.
- Number of firms bidding. Meta is an auction. Seven MTAA campaigns run the Lanier track at once, plus every firm outside MTAA advertising the same tort. More bidders, higher CPL.
- Creative fatigue. A winning ad decays. Campaigns that refresh creative on a schedule hold CPL; campaigns that let one ad run for four months watch it double.
- Intake speed. Does not change CPL at all. Changes CPSC more than anything else on this list.
- Qualification tightness. Every screening question added after the click raises CPSC and improves inventory quality. The Morgan & Morgan track is the live example.
Mass tort lead generation: how the channels compare
Meta (Facebook and Instagram) is what MTAA runs and what every figure on this page comes from. It produces the highest volume at the lowest cost per signed case for consumer-facing torts because the targeting reaches claimants who were not searching for a lawyer, which is most of them.
Google search reaches claimants who already know they have a claim. Volume is a fraction of Meta's, cost per click is high, and retainer rates are usually better because the intent is stronger. Firms report it as a complement to Meta rather than a replacement, and the figures they report are their own; MTAA does not run search and does not publish search benchmarks.
Television built the mass tort business and still works for firms with the budget to buy frequency, but the cost per signed case reported by firms running TV is consistently a multiple of Meta on the same tort, and none of it is measurable at the lead level.
Lead vendors sit on top of one or more of the above and resell the output. Their value is convenience and predictability. Their cost is the margin and the loss of the audience asset.
Referral networks and co-counsel arrangements produce signed cases rather than leads, priced as a fee share instead of a per-lead cost. For a firm that does not want to run intake at all, that is often the best answer, and it is outside the scope of this page.
Frequently Asked Questions: Mass Tort Leads
What is a mass tort lead?
A mass tort lead is a claimant who has responded to advertising for a specific tort and provided contact information, usually through a form or a call, before any qualification has taken place. A lead is not a retainer. On the torts MTAA tracks, between 7% and 22% of leads become signed retainers, and that conversion rate is what turns a lead price into a case cost.
How much do mass tort leads cost?
In the trailing 30 days ending September 3, 2026, MTAA-managed campaigns produced mass tort leads at $3.52 (Taco Bell), $54.67 and $86.58 (social media addiction, two tracks), $78.64 (foster care abuse), $214.14 and $241.18 (birth injury, two states), and $347.64 (storm damage). There is no meaningful average across torts; the per-tort table above is the answer.
Are mass tort leads exclusive?
Leads generated by a firm's own campaign are exclusive by definition; the claimant responded to that firm's ad. Vendor leads may be exclusive or shared depending on the contract, and shared leads convert at lower rates because the claimant is being contacted by several firms at once.
What is a good cost per signed case for a mass tort?
It depends entirely on the tort and the expected case value. In the current window, MTAA campaigns are signing Taco Bell cases at $116, social media addiction cases at $486 on the Lanier track and $896 on the Morgan & Morgan track. A $900 signed case on a tort with a five-figure expected value is a good number; the same $900 on a small consumer settlement is not. Judge CPSC against case value, never in isolation.
How many mass tort leads does a firm need to make a campaign work?
Enough to reach a stable retainer rate, which in practice means a few hundred leads on a tort before the numbers mean anything. That is also why MTAA publishes CPSC only after three signed retainers in a window and CPL only above $5,000 in spend. A campaign with 40 leads and 2 retainers has a retainer rate of 5%; the next retainer makes it 7.5%. Small samples lie.
Where do mass tort leads come from?
From advertising, almost entirely. Meta produces the bulk of consumer-facing mass tort leads in 2026, followed by search, television, and vendors that repackage those channels. The MTAA figures on this page are Meta only.
The number to take away
Mass tort leads are priced per lead and bought per case, and the gap between those two numbers is where firms win or lose money on a tort. The table on this page will be refreshed quarterly from MTAA's live market data, which updates every night, so the figures here are a snapshot of a series rather than a one-time survey. If you want the per-tort numbers for a tort not listed, or the current CPSC on a tort you are considering, the market data hub has it, and if you want to know what your own firm's campaign would look like on these torts, that is a thirty-minute call.
Want the numbers for your tort?
See what a cost-plus tort campaign would look like for your firm.
Mass Tort Ad Agency has managed $250M+ in Meta ad spend for 600+ plaintiff law firms since 2015. Ad spend plus 15%, no hidden fees, live per-tort benchmarks at masstortadagency.com/market.
Schedule a Free Consultation →